How to set up a Chromebook to be safer at home

The first person to log in becomes the owner, and sets the permissions for other users. As the parent, you will need to have a Google account to log into first.

If the Chromebook has already been used, it will require a reset back to factory settings. Please follow the instructions below on how to Powerwash a Chromebook.

Once this is done, or the Chromebook is being used for the first time, parents will need to log in with their own Google account. If you do not have one, an account can be created.

After logging in as the parent, access to the Chromebook can be restricted by following the restrict access to the Chromebook instructions below. Restrict access to the Chromebook

How to Powerwash a Chromebook

Reset using the Settings menu

Sign in to your Chromebook.

Click the status area, where your account picture appears and time appears (bottom right).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click Settings 

Scroll to the bottom and click +Show advanced settings.

Scroll to the bottom then in the “Powerwash” section, click Powerwash.

 

In the box that appears, click Restart and sign in with your Google Account.

 

 

 

 

Click the Powerwash or reset button.

Note: The account you sign in with after you reset your Chromebook will be the owner account. This should be the parents Google account (if you do not have one then one can be made from the start up screen).

Restrict access to the Chromebook

You can choose to let only certain Google Accounts use your Chromebook:

Sign in to the Chromebook using the parent’s Google account. If you do not have one, an account can be created from the sign-in screen.

Click the status area, where your account picture appears and time appears (bottom right).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click Settings 

Scroll down to the “People” section, click Manage other users.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Uncheck the Enable Guest browsing box

Check the box for Restrict sign-in to the following users.

Add your child’s Riccarton High School email address at the bottom and push Enter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click Finished

Now sign out from your parent account and click Add person.