Waimea College

Pastoral care

Whare structure

All students placed in one of four whāre where they will be supported by a Kaiarataki (Head of House) who will work alongside the Kaitiaki (Dean of House) and a group of whānau teachers.

Students will be connected to their allocated whāre throughout their time at Riccarton High School.

KOTUHI: Pre-dawn: Purple

Kaiarataki (Head of House): Ms Lydia Mills
Kaitiaki (Dean of House): Mr Rick Harlow

ATATU: Day-break: Yellow

Kaiarataki (Head of House): Miss Aeronwy Cording
Kaitiaki (Dean of House): Miss Natalie Bell

WHAIAO: Broad daylight: Blue

Kaiarataki (Head of House): Mrs Kalina Harmer-Campbell
Kaitiaki (Dean of House): Mrs Kara Ross

URANGA: Dusk: Orange

Kaiarataki (Head of House): Mrs Heather Lindsay
Kaitiaki (Dean of House): Mrs Sabina Reed

Whanau classes

Each whāre will consist of whānau classes.

These classes will be around 18 students in total, covering a range of students from Years 9 to 13 with one whānau teacher.

The vertical nature of these Whānau classes will allow older students to mentor younger students.

In Te Ao Māori, this system of older and younger learning from each other is referred to as tuakana–teina.

Whānau classes will meet for two short, 20-minute sessions each week and one longer session which will allow for a stronger focus on academic mentoring, life skills, embedding aspects of well-being and resiliency.

Ms Carole Lake: KLK
Miss Emma Cusdin: KCU
Ms Mel Anderson: KAR
Mr Matt Roland: KRD
Mr John Thomson: KTN
Mr Matt Kippenberger: KKP
Whaea Ripeka Tamepo: KTM
Mrs Tara Bell: KBEL
Mr Eric Wang: KWG
Mr Paddy Scott: KSC
Ms Sue Napier: KNP
Mr Elliott Campbell: KCB
Ms Karen Browning: KBZ
Ms Vanessa Kidd: KKD
Mrs Alex Schwass: KSW
Ms A King: KKG

Ms Lisa Heald and Mr Mike Murray: AHD
Mr Charlie Grubb: AGB
Miss Victoria Gregory: AGR
Mrs Leanne Anderson and Mrs Kate Rowlands: ARW
Mr Chris Nielsen: ANS
Ms Angela Bland: ABN
Ms Emma Trott: ATR
Ms June Milne: AME
Mrs Christine Cheesman: ACH
Mr Lachlan Paewai: APW
Mr Bryan Wedlake: AWA
Mr Alexander van der Peet: AVP
Mr Bruce Saunders: ASN
Mr Blair McHugh: AMH
Miss Rebekah Narby: ANB
Mrs Tanya Mapp: AMP

Mr Shane Morrow: WMO
Miss Jena Nielsen: WNL
Ms Courtney Robinson: WRO
Ms Sarah Eaton: WEA
Mrs Nikki Conyers: WCS
Ms Annette Schnell: WSL
Mrs Sarah Blissett: WBI
Mr Ezra Fa’alogo: WFL
Mr Mike Seddon: WSD
Mr Chris Stewart: WST
Mr Jeff Gunn: WGN
Mrs Cerys Roberts-Smith: WRB
Mr Andrew Jefferson: WJE
Mrs Lucia Teague-Schellekens: WTS
Ms Sarah Dunn: WDN
Ms Kerry McCarthy: WMCY

Miss Tania Hawes and Mr Neil Haywood: UHW
Ms Amie Blackwell: UBW
Mrs Kim Henry: UHY
Mr Yu Ito: UIT
Ms Delia Talili: UTL
Mrs Anne Jacques: UJQ
Mr John Webster: UWS
Mr Joel Hammond: UHM
Mr Remco Baars: UBB
Mrs Michelle Hemmingsen: UHN
Miss Annie Gilchrist: UGI
Miss Kristi Le Cren: ULC
Ms Anne-Marie Plummer: UPL
Mr Andrew Regaldo: URG
Mrs Jo Gordon: UGD


Riccarton High School has two counsellors who ensure students receive information to assist them to make positive, informed and appropriate decisions about their future. The counsellors are also available if students have specific concerns about anything at school or home.

To contact a school counsellor, please click on the links below:

Chris Singh

Lara Grocott

Learning Support Co-ordinator

The Learning Support Co-ordinator oversees extra learning support required by students who have been diagnosed with specific learning disabilities, physical disabilities or behavioural disorders, so that they can be more successful in the classroom. Click here for more information.

Careers Adviser

Riccarton High School has a schoolwide career development programme.  It is a student-centred, holistic approach where the students at each year level are interviewed either individually or in small groups on an annual basis. The Careers Adviser also has access to comprehensive network of employers and tertiary institutions allowing for individual pathways to be developed dependent on student need.